Welcome, Volusia County Democrats!

Please welcome Jewel Dickson as Chair of the Volusia County Democratic Party and Susanne Raines as State Committeewoman, effective June 13, 2021.

This is a joint statement from Richard Thripp and Jewel Dickson.

Yesterday, Jewel Dickson and I, on advice from our respective counsels, approved an amicable agreement that reinstates Jewel as Chair of the Volusia County Democratic Executive Committee. Susanne Raines will serve as State Committeewoman, and Evans Smith will continue as State Committeeman. New elections will be held on July 19, 2021, for the other three offices. At-large committee members appointed during my tenure, and approved by the DEC at large will also continue in office.

Because the applicants’ oaths to the Democratic Party were not appropriately notarized, the election of precinct captains in 2020 proved invalid. The individuals affected are, however, encouraged to apply to the appropriate committee for membership in the DEC. Their applications will be dealt with expeditiously, and, after approval by the DEC membership at large, they will be eligible to vote in the July 19 election. Specific instructions for application will be provided within the week.

I have asked that the following be included in a joint statement of party unity: “In stepping down in favor of Jewel Dickson as the Volusia County DEC Chair and asking the local and state party to recognize and support Susanne Raines as the state committeewoman, it is my hope we can move past the issues with the December 8, 2020, Volusia County Democratic Executive Committee election. I am pleased we were able to reach an equitable solution that allows us to focus our talents and energies on the elections in 2022.”

It was an honor to serve as Chair from December 8, 2020, to June 13, 2021. I will support Chair Dickson through the transition and I will continue to have an active role in electing Democrats who enact progressive legislation and policy. I strongly encourage others to join us.

Dr. Richard Thripp
Former Chair


NEW: Click here to fill out our volunteer placement form!

For Democratic Executive Committee members: Click here for our committee interest form.

Volusia County, Florida is home to 140,416 Democrats at the northeast end of the I-4 corridor. Our most populous cities are Deltona, Daytona Beach, Port Orange, Ormond Beach, DeLand, New Smyrna Beach, Edgewater, and DeBary.


We need your donations! Click here to donate via ActBlueWe will use your donation wisely.

Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook.